Episode 3: The Chakras: Fundamental Yoga Psychology

Episode 3: The Chakras: Fundamental Yoga Psychology

Listen Now.

Everybody loves the Chakras!

They love them but are mystified by them.

In this episode, we’re talking everything Chakras.

First, let’s get this out of the way. It’s pronounced CH-ak-ra – not SH-ak-ra.

We talk about:

  • What the Chakras are.
  • How they work.
  • Why it is so important to pay attention to what they are telling you.

At the root of every physical experience, malady, illness, or discomfort, is an emotional reality that needs to be explored.

We know that there are seven chakras and, essentially, these are the seven different levels on which we experience life as human beings. They are universal, and they are in-built, which is why I know every one of us on the planet has seven chakras. No matter where you were born, or what time you were born in, all of us will have the same seven layers of struggle, or seven layers of challenge, or seven layers of growth that we need to move through.

There is no hierarchy to the chakras. They are sequential. We do want to start at chakra number one and move to number seven as best we can when we’re working with them, but they are not hierarchical. No chakra is better than another.

The 7 Chakras are:

  1. The Root Chakra
  2. The Sacral Chakra
  3. The Solar Plexus Chakra
  4. The Heart Chakra
  5. The Throat Chakra
  6. The 3rd Eye Chakra
  7. The Crown Chakra

Perhaps the most important thing to understand about the chakras is that, at each of these psychological levels, we have a core wound that needs to be addressed. Again, this is pretty universal because all of us as human beings do have certain similar life experiences.

To learn more about the Chakras download this episode’s freebie, The Chakra Cheat Sheet.

Resources mentioned on this podcast:

Free Chakra E-Book

Free Chakra Therapeutics Webinar